Anatole Vella Gera

Flight Instructor, Flight Safety Officer and Flight Examiner at European Pilot Academy

Aircraft Type Flying/Flown: SEP, MEP, MD-90

PPL, ATPL and CPL

European Pilot Academy gave me the opportunity to pursue my dream of becoming a pilot. It all began in 1993 when the ground school was carried out in Malta and the flying in Florida USA. The professionalism of the school was apparent from day one.

After gaining my wings in 1994 as a Private Pilot, I enrolled for the Commercial Pilots Licence course with European Pilot Academy and by 1995 I had a CPL ME IR under my belt.

During my non aviation employment,  I was finding every opportunity to fly during my off days and build up my experience.

In 2003, I was given the opportunity to work with European Pilot Academy as a Flight Instructor. This fantastic opportunity was accepted without delay. Working with such a professional company was a great experience. This experience was not unnoticed as in 2005 I was recommended by the Department of Civil Aviation to become a designated Examiner to conduct PPL skill tests.

Beginning of 2006, I had the opportunity to work with a Swiss airline flying a Macdonald Douglas MD-90 operating out of Malta, Iceland and Switzerland. The experience gained from European Pilot Academy was an asset to my successful entry into this Airline.

As European Pilot Academy continued to grow, the demand for more instructors increased and at the beginning of 2010, I once again join European Pilot Academy as a Senior Flight Instructor, Flight Examiner and Flight Safety Officer. The experience that I gained in the airline industry helps me to enforce safety in the training organization, relate better to the students and guide them accordingly .
Aviation School
5.0
2013-10-25T07:00:42+00:00
Flight Instructor, Flight Safety Officer and Flight Examiner at European Pilot Academy Aircraft Type Flying/Flown: SEP, MEP, MD-90 PPL, ATPL and CPL European Pilot Academy gave me the opportunity to pursue my dream of becoming a pilot. It all began in 1993 when the ground school was carried out in Malta and the flying in Florida USA. The professionalism of the school was apparent from day one. After gaining my wings in 1994 as a Private Pilot, I enrolled for the Commercial Pilots Licence course with European Pilot Academy and by 1995 I had a CPL ME IR under my belt. During my non aviation employment,  I was finding every opportunity to fly during my off days and build up my experience. In 2003, I was given the opportunity to work with European Pilot Academy as a Flight Instructor. This fantastic opportunity was accepted without delay. Working with such a professional company was a great experience. This experience was not unnoticed as in 2005 I was recommended by the Department of Civil Aviation to become a designated Examiner to conduct PPL skill tests. Beginning of 2006, I had the opportunity to work with a Swiss airline flying a Macdonald Douglas MD-90 operating out of Malta, Iceland and Switzerland. The experience gained from European Pilot Academy was an asset to my successful entry into this Airline. As European Pilot Academy continued to grow, the demand for more instructors increased and at the beginning of 2010, I once again join European Pilot Academy as a Senior Flight Instructor, Flight Examiner and Flight Safety Officer. The experience that I gained in the airline industry helps me to enforce safety in the training organization, relate better to the students and guide them accordingly .

Carmelo Gauci

First Officer at Air Malta
Type: Airbus A319/320/321
FAA PPL/IR/CPL ground school, FAA PPL License(flying)

Like so many teenagers flying always attracted me, but unlike many, I was one of the few who was born with the flying bug.  That meant that one way or the other I was going to fly and after meeting Ray Zarb my options suddenly became a lot more attainable.

The European Pilot Accademy has allowed me to get to where I am now by providing a professional and thorough training.  They do not just teach you how to pass your exams, they teach you to fly competently and professionally! They instill the motivation required and help you overcome difficulties whilst always striving to hammer home a very important aspect of aviation, Safety. More often than not the instructors went beyond what was asked of them and offered a lot of information and help to support the class syllabus.
Aviation School
5.0
2013-10-25T07:47:34+00:00
They do not just teach you how to pass your exams, they teach you to fly competently and professionally!

Matthew Grech

Aircraft flown: P2002-JF, P-92JS

I began my PPL theory in July 2011, and I started my practical flying section a month later. I was very happy to find a friendly and professional approach to the subject both by the ground and flight instructors at European Pilot Academy. A committing and dedicated approach by my flying instructor ensured I was under just the right amount of scrutiny I needed to perfect my flying skills. One of my best recalled experience amongst many is my first solo flight. It was something I used to dream when I was younger - the idea of taking to the skies and control an aircraft for reality! I'm currently furthering my studies with the ATPL license.
Aviation School
5.0
2013-10-25T07:53:34+00:00
A committing and dedicated approach by my flying instructor ensured I was under just the right amount of scrutiny I needed to perfect my flying skills.

Daniel Tabone

First Officer at Orion Malta
Aircraft flown: Hawker 800, 900XP, 4000
PPL

I began my pilot training for the PPL in September 2003, and I was impressed with the professional approach and atmosphere, of European Pilot Academy right from the start. The Ground and Flight Instructors are very dedicated and most committed - always doing their best to achieve optimal results for the students. They truly transform the student pilots into confident, skillful and very knowledgeable professional pilots. This professionalism continued throughout my practical training at European Pilot Academy, and my experience at the academy has served as a good foundation on where I built my career as a pilot.
Aviation School
5.0
2013-11-12T11:41:33+00:00
They truly transform the student pilots into confident, skillful and very knowledgeable professional pilots.

Andrea Bruno

Aircraft flown: P2002-JF, PA-28, P-92JS

PPL & Night Rating, ATPL

I had always wanted to fly since my mother took me to my first airshow when I was 5.  When I first came to European Pilot Academy, I felt like I was stepping into a different world.  The spitfire engine, the pictures all around the lobby, and the runway just outside the window made me think “OK, this is it.  This is the world of aviation”.

Once I started my training, I was impressed with how serious the course was done, but yet how fun it was designed to remain.  The staff is extremely helpful.  Everyone will make it a point to help out as much as they can and that is very important in a school, because it allows for an easier and more pleasant learning experience.

I remember one occasion where we had a couple of problems with the examinations and Captain Ray Zarb immediately took it upon himself to get the problem sorted immediately.  Even when I began my flight training, the quality of the instruction given was excellent.  Once I finished my PPL, I got a job working at the school as Student Relations officer and Flight Operations.

What really leaves me pleasantly surprised to this day is the fact that although I spend most of my time here – this is, after all, my school where I am currently studying ATPL, my job, and the place where I can enjoy myself by flying – I still enjoy every second of it!

I would recommend European Pilot Academy to anyone looking to start a serious career in the world of aviation, and enjoy him/herself whilst doing it.
Aviation School
5.0
2013-11-12T13:30:53+00:00
When I first came to European Pilot Academy, I felt like I was stepping into a different world.

Marco Lucia

First Officer at Air Malta

Type: A320 family

Air Cadet, PPL, Night Rating

I began my pilot training in 1996 as an Air Cadet and I was immediately impressed by the Company’s commitment to make pilot training possible in Malta at a time when even gaining access to the aircraft for a local flight was a challenge in itself.  The friendly service provided by both the flying and administrative staff was evident right from the start. The Ground Instructors were always extremely knowledgeable on the subjects being put forward, not to mention the availability of audiovisual material, including aircraft parts, and comfortable facilities, which have been improved further since then.
Apart from actual flying, the practical training also included well organized visits to various airport sections such as the airport fire section, which helped me further understand how it comes all together. Such knowledge is invaluable and still helps me build a mental picture of what is going on around me and also helps me understand why certain things happen the way they do.
Back in 1998 it was only possible to fly solo aged 17 or older. Having had the opportunity to start training so early as an Air Cadet, I was ready to fly solo before reaching my 17thbirthday. The Academy actually took the trouble to organize a surprise by having me released for my first solo on my 17th birthday! How can one forget such an experience? Not to mention the traditional bucket of water emptied over my head just as I walked away from the aircraft.
I am lucky that today I fly for our National Airline on one of the most advanced aircraft in the world, but I also still fly those same light aircraft I trained on back then on a regular basis, and can’t help being nostalgic of those days when PPL training was started in Malta.
Aviation School
5.0
2013-11-12T13:31:59+00:00
The friendly service provided by both the flying and the administrative staff was evident right from the start.

Dan Rasmussen

Senior Systems Developer, Inu:IT A/S, Nuuk, Greenland

Aircraft Type Flying/Flown: P92J, C172, AA1, PA28R

PPL 

I began my pilot training May 1st 2005, and I was impressed with the friendliness of European Pilot Academy right from the start. The Flight Instructors had one goal for me, and that was for me to feel welcome and have fun learning to fly. I was a long way from home coming all the way from Greenland and the friendliness of Ray, Sarah and Anatole was a big help for me to feel confident. The professionalism was felt throughout my practical training at European Pilot Academy .There I had my best experiences and will never forget my first flight in the small Tecnam P92 – you sit shoulder to shoulder for hours and it’s a blast! My first talk to Luqa Tower. That was scary at first, there was so much traffic and heavy traffic at that – the Tecnam P92 seemed very very small compared to the airliners and talking on the radio was my biggest obstacle.
First solo flight – what a feeling – the guy to the right wasn’t there anymore and I felt so ready to fly by myself – think I was told to do 3 circuits but did 4.  The Navigation Solo Flight was a huge experience, navigating, talking to ATC and then brief horrors like “where am I?”, and shortly after “Oh, got my position again…” – just the feeling of accomplishment during that flight was something I will never forget. The scenery was breathtaking, Messina Strait, the mountains and all the small villages along the way. One lesson I still use today is flying around mountains, wind coming across mountains gives a lot of turbulence. Took me half an hour before I figured out that just 500 feet higher is a much smoother ride.


I did almost nothing but fly and read theory. Started flying May 1st and had my first solo 7 days later. With 2 - 3 flights a day, the first 14 days of flying went by fast – too fast, I could have gone on and on. But after 14 days of constant flying I was ready to take the skill test and I felt confident. The examiner was booked for the week after, because of his busy schedule, so I had a week of no flying, just vacation and sightseeing. So on May 23rd I passed my skill test for my PPL on my 15th flying day. A couple of days later my dad came to Malta and was my first passenger – very proud day.

Today I mainly fly C172 in Nuuk, as you can see on the picture, the scenery is amazing. I am also building a full scale B737-800 simulator in my basement and flying takes on a new dimension – rest assured that Luqa Airport will be a frequent stop for my simulator.
Aviation School
5.0
2013-11-12T13:34:00+00:00
The flight instructors had one goal for me, and that was for me to feel welcome and have fun learning to fly.

Stathis Georgakopoulos

Course attended : ATPL

Overall Experience : 

It was a stressful course due to the material that needed to be studied however, with the help of the instructors at EPA, the process was made easier and more enjoyable.
Aviation School
5.0
2014-02-25T13:28:41+00:00
It was a stressful course due to the material that needed to be studied however, with the help of the instructors at EPA, the process was made easier and more enjoyable.

Fabio Giambellano

What about the European Pilot Academy? In my honest opinion I will carry this experience at EPA for the rest of my life, beside a professional organisation, I found a family as they cared about my situation a lot. My CPL/MEP training was constantly followed by my Instructor, Alberto, where all my thanks must go to him and obviously thanks to all the staff of the EPA for this great experience and thanks to all the new friends that I have met at EPA. Thanks.
Aviation School
5.0
2016-11-15T09:28:59+00:00
What about the European Pilot Academy? In my honest opinion I will carry this experience at EPA for the rest of my life, beside a professional organisation, I found a family as they cared about my situation a lot.

Dalton Lee Aquilina

I have been studying with European Pilot Academy for over 8 years now and throughout the years I have always found the help I needed and even more.

From all the courses I've done with EPA, including the basic cadet course, advanced cadet course, PPL and now my ATPL I have always enjoyed it and it has always been a wonderful experience. This school has taught me so much about the beautiful world of aviation.

Whenever I have any queries the friendly team at EPA is always there to help me with a smile.


Thank you!

Aviation School
5.0
2016-11-15T10:16:12+00:00
I have been studying with European Pilot Academy for over 8 years now and throughout the years I have always found the help I needed and even more.

Rafal Rowinski

I've had a check-out flight and a solo rental of the school's PA28 for a pleasure flight around the islands. The staff of the school were very friendly and professional. The operations of the school are organised immaculately. I would recommend the school to anyone planning to do flight training or hour building.
Aviation School
5.0
2016-11-15T10:39:03+00:00
I've had a check-out flight and a solo rental of the school's PA28 for a pleasure flight around the islands. The staff of the school were very friendly and professional. The operations of the school are organised immaculately. I would recommend the school to anyone planning to do flight training or hour building.

Zack Vella

Completed the IR/ME course on the Seneca PA34-200T. The briefings done by Jan and Alberto were excellent and helped a lot when it came to practicing the maneuvers in the simulator and the aircraft itself. Instructors and administration are always available with any queries from the students and are very helpful, Highly recommend EPA to all aspiring commercial pilots.
Aviation School
5.0
2016-11-15T10:56:12+00:00
Completed the IR/ME course on the Seneca PA34-200T. The briefings done by Jan and Alberto were excellent and helped a lot when it came to practicing the maneuvers in the simulator and the aircraft itself.

Malcolm Calleja

Ever wondered which is the best school in Malta for aviation training ? Look no more!

Thanks to their vast years of experience, European Pilot Academy has helped me pursue my dreams from the very early beginning. I would like to express my gratitude for their constant help and support during all the courses I attended; starting from the solid basic skills gained through the PPL, helping me achieve an average of 94% in the ATPL exams, and last but not least, a FIRST time pass on my CPL/ME/IR skill tests. My success is surely a reflection of their professional training and superior guidance!

Thank you!
Aviation School
5.0
2016-11-15T15:29:31+00:00
Ever wondered which is the best school in Malta for aviation training ? Look no more!

Katie Pirotta

I have recently completed my EASA ATPLs as part of my conversion of my ICAO commercial license. The staff are all exceptionally helpful, understanding, welcoming and above all skilled and knowledgeable. I am looking forward to undertaking my practical training here too.
Aviation School
5.0
2016-11-16T12:32:46+00:00
I have recently completed my EASA ATPLs as part of my conversion of my ICAO commercial license. The staff are all exceptionally helpful, understanding, welcoming and above all skilled and knowledgeable. I am looking forward to undertaking my practical training here too.

Trevor Zammit

Thanks EPA! Thanks to all the hard working & dedicated team. Finished my ATPLs - all first time passes with high marks. First session was 8 exams at once. I surely couldn't have made it without your help & preparation.
Thanks for all the time and patience with cpl training - top instructors, keep it up
Aviation School
5.0
2016-11-16T12:40:30+00:00
Thanks EPA! Thanks to all the hard working & dedicated team. Finished my ATPLs - all first time passes with high marks.
5.0
15